Key Stage 4 Overview


The KS4 curriculum is based on a number of guiding principles:

  • A core curriculum is provided which is essential for all students’ future success
  • An optional element is provided which is personalised around every student

Both of these principles give students solid foundations on which to progress to further study and future life.


Click here  for KS 4 Curriculum Provision

Click here for Options Booklet

Changes to qualifications.  
GCSEs and A Levels are being reformed into linear qualifications.  For further details including information specific to younger year groups click here.


Assessment at Devizes School


Assessment in years 7-11

With the exception of current year 11 students, all students are now being assessed using the Devizes School life beyond levels assessment criteria.

Key assessments and exams will be graded on the new GCSE 9-1 scale (9 is the highest grade which approximately 3% of students will achieve nationally, 1 is the lowest grade representing a pass at GCSE) Please see the DFE document detailing how the new GCSE grades relate to the previous A*-G system by following this link:

The grade a student receives is called the current grade and indicates the grade that a students is expected to achieve at the end of year 11 if they continue to make progress as they have done.  This is no guarantee that they will achieve this grade and there is a good chance that the final grade achieved could be higher or lower than the grade depending on their progress and commitment between the assessment being reported and the final exams.

This system has been introduced to both reflect the removal of national curriculum levels and to better guide staff, parents and students on the achievement path a student is on. 

In years 7-9 students’ progress towards their challenging target will be reported on progress statements and on progress review day reports, all of which will be published on the parent portal.

In years 10-11 the progress and current grade will be reported in progress sheets and Progress Review Day reports, all of which will be uploaded to the parent portal when published.

All reports for years 7-11 use the following Progress statement:

GE- Making good or excellent progress, on course to achieve or exceed Aspirational target

P - Making progress but not yet achieving Aspirational target                                            

L- Making less than expected progress

SB- Progress is significantly below expected levels


Fine Grades

Grades used in reporting for years 10 and 11 will be used in the form of fine grades, this simply uses a 1,2 or 3 after the grade to indicated how secure the grade is.  For example.

7.1- this indicates that the current grade for a students is a grade 7, the .1 highlights that fact that this is a secure 7 grade. 

7.2- This current grade is a 7 but it is not secure, ie there is a chance the student could achieve the grade below

7.3 – this current grade is a 7 but it is very insecure and there is almost an equal chance that the grade obtained could be the grade below, in this case a 6.


Other qualifications

There are also other qualifications studied at KS4 and they use the following assessment scheme:

L2D*, L2D, L2M, L2P, L1P, F

Distinction* is the highest level awarded followed by Merit and then Pass.  A level 2 Pass (L2P) is a higher level of attainment than a level 1 Pass (L1P).  Again each of the grades is divided into 1,2 and 3, to indicate how secure the grade is, with 1 being the most secure.

Assessments in Year 12 and 13.

We continue to use the A*-E grading in the sixth form, again grades that are communicated are current grades based upon students current performance.


What's coming up

  • 22/11/18

    Year 11 Faculty Achievement Awards 2018

    read more
  • 28/11/18

    Year 7 Parent 'Coffee & Chat' Meeting


    read more
  • 29/11/18

    Sixth Form Open Evening 2018


    read more

Teaching is good across the curriculum


White horse federation logo

Values, culture and character through excellence in standards